top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

You cant leave without a stack full....

Hey ya'll,


Well its officially summer at my house.School is over, testing is done and we are in full swing of finding goodies to supplement with next year. So as you know, I have used things like Abeka and Notgrass. But I always like to have "extras" on hand. You may be wondering what I mean or why I even bother getting extras when clearly Abeka and Notgrass are both all inclusive curriculums. Well, the answers simple really......

Lets say I was told that I havd to eat a grilled cheese sandwhich everyday. While I love grilled cheese, it would most definitly get old pretty quickly. So I would switch it up, maybe throw in a PB&J or blogna in there some days lol.

Well, thats how I view things like math and some other subjects. No one wants to do the same thing day in and day out. So I get some "extras" anything from colorful workbooks, to neat little reading or writing assignments. Thngs that will break up the old black and white textbook and add a little pep into the day.


So, Today I went to a much loved homeschool store, even though its an hour away lol. Its always well worth the trip. I found some great deals on Abeka programs, BJU press, Saxton and more.

Not to mention they always have a clearance rack and a $1 rack. Anything on the clearance rack was 50% off today and the items on the $1 rack were 5 books for $1. We are talking spanish, history, language arts, math, health, you name it. Great names like Abeka, master books, BJU. Some for kindergaten some for highschool and everything in between. Lets just say that I have never left this store empty handed. Usually I am carrying a stack of books out to my car after spending a solid hur or two shopping and browsing their thousands and thiusands of choices.


Its so funny to me when people say that homeschooling is too expensive, or I hear stories where people are buying the same urriculums as me for triple the price. Shop around people!!! Now, dont get me wrong, last year I spent hundreds of dollars between my two girls. However, between used book stores, homeschool stores like this, facebook homeschool exchange websites, etc. You really can get a lot of great deals and wonderful curriculums for your money.


I am all about finding good deals. Sometimes people don't believe the things I have found for the prices I have found them for lol. Buts its all a matter of putting forth the effort to search and not just settle for the $125 or $300 price tag. Because I am most certainly not doing that lol.

My husband is the only one working and while he fully agrees with the decision to homeschool, we still like to make our money stretch, the best we can.

Last year alone my girls got some wonderful curriculums, we used popular names including Abeka, teaching textbooks, Notgrass, BJU press, and Apologia. Most people pay a fortune for these programs, not me!

Soooooo....If you ever need a little help digging for a good deal or a place to find certain texts, please dont hesitate to give me a shout. Homeschool mamas, need to help eachother out!


Have a great day and happy thrifting....



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page