top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

What kind of foundation do you have?

Updated: Jul 19, 2023



As we enter this new year I've wondered, will this year be any better than what 2020 threw at all of us?

No matter what walk of life we were in, the struggles we faced all had one thing in common. A lockdown, a pandemic, kids out of school, loss of the closeness we once had with eachother be it a hug, or even a simple hand shake, added stresses to our daily lives that we weren't at all prepared for.

Then, we tack on things like losing a job, a loss of income, divorces, strains on friendships, zoom being the new way to see family and friends,etc. Its been a very challenging 10 months (so far).

But you know what? We made it through, we made it to 2021! It wasn't easy y'all, but we did make it! God saw us through the storm and brought us through to another year.


In the midst of all the bad, all the negativity that 2020 brought, I have to say one thing I have taken away from its all, is, that he loves us more than we know. He has a plan and no matter what storms are thrown at us, we will not falter if we have a good foundation. You might wonder what I mean by this, but bare with me a minute.


Our pastor showed us an image today from Hurricane Ivy, more than a decade ago. It was a picture of an entire community leveled. A truly devastating picture of nothing, everything gone. No houses, cars, stores, etc. All you could see was debris! For what looked like to be miles. But in the middle of all the debris, stood one house all alone....

Now you might ask, why that house? What was special about that house to make it stand while all the others lost theirs?

After the photographer took the photo he asked the home owners that very question. They had told him....Years back we lost our home and had to rebuild from the ground up. We told our contractors that we wanted a stronger foundation with the best and most sturdy materials, that could withstand any storm.

So you see, they learned from their past to build their new home from the ground up. They no doubt knew that starting anew was going to be a challenge. But that in the long run it would pay off. And it's sure did do just that!

So what if we had that same outlook on our lives?? What if we built a foundation within ourselves based upon our faith and our love for the lord. With our hearts set on the good word, and letting that be what leads our lives. Let that be what anchors us down. Not money, or work, not a fancy car or the perfect clothes. But a foundation of faith!!! Faith can be found in many ways.. it's surrounding ourselves with the people in our lives who pick us up when we have nothing left, its having a church to call home, and a family and community of like minded people with a deep rooted faith like your own.

Because when we have all these things and truly invest in these things, you will slowly begin to see changes in your life. You will begin to realize that instead of having a weak rubble or daub foundation, you will have a foundation much like the roots of a great cedar beneath the soil. Deep, stable and strong!

You will see that with a foundation that sturdy, nothing will break you. Be it a storm of... fear, health, a pandemic, divorce, the loss of a loved one or a job, money, etc. He will see you through any storm. For he loves you and will never leave you.


I'm sure some of you may have read this poem before. But it's one of my favorites.


Footprints in the sand:

One night I dreamed a dream.

As I was walking along the beach with my Lord.

Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.

For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand,

One belonging to me and one to my Lord.

After the last scene of my life flashed before me,

I looked back at the footprints in the sand.

I noticed that at many times along the path of my life,

especially at the very lowest and saddest times,

there was only one set of footprints.

This really troubled me, so I asked the Lord about it.

"Lord, you said once I decided to follow you,

You'd walk with me all the way.

But I noticed that during the saddest and most troublesome times of my life,

there was only one set of footprints.

I don't understand why, when I needed You the most, You would leave me."

He whispered, "My precious child, I love you and will never leave you

Never, ever, during your trials and testings.

When you saw only one set of footprints,

It was then that I carried you."


Good night y'all, I pray that you too will slowly start building your foundation. Because 2021 needs to be a much better year than last!







12 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page