top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Waves and dimples

Hey y'all,


Can I just take a minute to tell y'all, I spent the weekend at the shore. I spent my days basked in the sun, playing in the sand, running away from the chilly waves as I tried to throw my husband in the ocean lol. I sat down with my kids as they splashed around in the shallows. My heart was so full!


You know why?


Because....

Even though I'm not a size 5


Even though I'm not a "perfect" beach body


Even though I don't have those perfectly placed beach waves in my hair


Even though I'm sure the 18yr olds were wondering why I was happily sporting my bathing suit as they frolicked in their tiny little suits


Even though I don't have the "gap" as I like to think of as flamingo legs


Even though I have stretch marks


Even though I have lovely dimples on my legs and bum


I rocked it anyways! I held my head high and I said..what the heck! I deserve to enjoy the sun and the waves just like the size 2 moms, I deserve to play with my children as they see there mom happy and confident vs. self conscious and withdrawn.

I've had those day, the days I've felt like I needed to hide myself. The days I doubted myself, wondering if I should just skip the suit and wear a tee shirt and shorts.

But NO!!! I am raising two daughters. Two daughters that I want to be confident in their own skin, daughters I want to play and laugh and just be themselves. Daughters that don't second guess themselves over the thoughts of others.


Because after all, while you may not always be everyone's cup of tea, you don't have to be.. Tea never apologized for not being coffee. It simply gravitates toward the people who chose it.


You can never please everyone, someone will always find the negative in something. But while I'm smiling and laughing and playing and splashing. My kids are making memories they will remember years from now.

You know what they won't remember? The fact that their mom wasn't any of those things mentioned above, the fact that their mom never sought out being a model, but rather the best possible mom and role model she could be!






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page