top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Vacation mode vs. back to reality

Hey y'all,


Well its day one back to the grind since the whopping 2 weeks off we took for Christmas and New years. I dont know which was harder, getting me back into the swing of things or the girls lol.

When I told the girls that last night was a school night, lets just say their faces lacked a certain enthusiasm it did when I told them 2 weeks earlier that iot was the first night of winter break lol. Being a school night, I reiderated the fact that they werent going to stay up till who knows when watching movies and playing with Barbies, it was like a rude awakening that their beloved vacation was over, but oddly enough they actually went to bed pretty well with no major complaints.


Now, mornings on the other hand are usually my struggle, especially with my teenager! This girl is not a morning person lol. But this morning I woke up and she was dressed and already blow drying her hair. Like who are you? And what have you done with my daughter? I was like, wow, Kiera look at you getting ready for the day and school! hahaha well let me tell you, that would be the time in the movie where the sad, back to reality music started to play, because this girl must have plain forgot that today we were back at it! She gave me a face like, you have got to be kidding me! haha priceless let me tell you!


After my much needed Coffee to get me started and then the reheating of said coffee, because as moms we have 10 million things going on at any given moment and rarely have time to complete the simple task of finishing one warm cup of coffee before the list begins haha. We got to it and school was back in full swing......


Now here is the thing...How many of you actually take holiday breaks, like a public school would? I loved having the down time, but my goodness I swear my little one forgot half of the things we learned before break and today was like starting over. Dont get me wrong, I know she just needs to get into the swing of things and the routine of things again, but what a rough morning. Especially with math (and all it was, was review) Next year I am debating the whole "long" break thing. I mean we homeschool, one of the nice things about it is, making up our own schedule to suite our family right?

Dont get me wtrong, I totally get where these kids are coming from, what adult wants to go back to work after a long break, none! So why should children feel any differently about school. However, we must press on and get back to it. The valuable lesson of all good things must come to an end right!?


So, I guess I am curious what are your strategies coming off of break? Do you do review, do you come back slowly, do you not take long breaks in the first place?

What are some fun things I can do to transition our family from full on vacation mode to back to school mode? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!!!

I know I cant be the only homeschool mama out there going through this very same dilema right now lol.

I know I cant be the only homeschool mama out there going through this very same dilema right now lol. So, go grab some coffee and help a girl out! Id love to hear from you.






6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page