top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

The tiny humans upstairs

Good morning y'all,


So as I sit here with my coffee in hand and eyes still unsure they want to be open lol. I got to thinking, how many of you mamas out there have older children, we are talking 10+.

I have an 11 and 12 year old, both girls and let me tell you they are sure ready to be teenagers. Or at least they think they are.


My house is quiet, the hubs is at work and kids are still in bed (perks of homeschooling) and I am just enjoying some me time with my coffee and pup. Before the hormonal, pre teen girls awake from their peaceful slumber and attitudes, arguing, "moms always wrong", tiny humans walk down the stairs to start yet another day lol.


Now let me tell you, this is somewhat exaggerated, my kids are very well behaved compared to many of their peers. However the turning point from child to adolescent isn't necessarily an easy one. Hormones flying, the idea that you think you're a mini adult and never wrong. We bump heads a lot more than we used to. BUT...somehow we get through the day. We still laugh. Cuddle, play and hug and love.

Perhaps with just a little more coffee in my system these days.


Can any mamas out there relate? The struggle is real y'all! Some days I have my sweet baby girls who need me and want me around. Other days they are independent, strong willed, mini adults with attitudes up the wazoo!

I'm not ready y'all. I look at these babies and still see a pink swaddle blanket, or pig tails, kissing boo boos and them falling asleep in my arms.


Now it's makeup talk, will you paint my nails, texting boys, PMS (at least for one) and oh, did I mention the new found attitudes lol.


I love my girls! They are full of hugs, have old souls that remind me of my great grandmother. They are the most kind hearted little people to everyone they meet. They are good kids!

I understand they are growing up, maturing, and finding themselves in this crazy world. I too was a crazy hormonal teen.. so I guess, when push comes to shove all I can do is try to guide them the best I can, reassure them with the fact that I am and always will be here for them, that I'm their biggest fan, they can trust in me always and I've hot great shoulders to cry on lol and if all that fails, grab a rope and hold on!

For they will achieve greatness, I just know it!!!




35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page