top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

The struggles real y'all

Hey y'all,


So let me tell you a bit about my day yesterday.....You've guessed it already. It was wonderful! I say that in the most sarcastic tone possible. Lol.


I woke up and got the kids breakfast and we started school. Everything going as usual. Before I sprung into panic mode throwing the kids in the car for my 30 minute trek to the drs office that I completely forgot about.


Car parked, Mask on, I fly into my allergist office without a minute to spare. Only to find out I need an epipen! I kind had that feeling, you know from the whole airway closing, fear struck way my body decided to tell me I was allergic to crab. However, I didn't want to believe it. Who wants an allergy or to have to carry this thing around all the time.

None the less. My doctors great. I left the office feeling OK about everything.


Until....I go to start my car and of course it won't start! Did I mention its pouring rain? I have two kids in tow.

Well, after calling my husband who couldn't leave work. I felt awful calling anyone else. So waited a bit to see if it would miraculously start....Again. Why I thought that who knows? Sometimes I'm baffled at how my brain operates!

But after quite a while my very amazing friend graciously offered to come jump me or give me a ride home if needed.


So, my windows are electric and wouldn't roll down nor would my ac work due to my car being dead. It was over 80* outside so you can imagine how hot it was feeling in the car. Though the downpour of rain wasn't an appealing alternative to the heat.

After 3 hours total, we finally got that jump! That I soon realized was caused my my suv's back gate not being shut all the way therefore leaving an interior light on that door. I didnt even see in my rush into the drs office.


After my amazing morning and now afternoon my kids are now starving and I am in desperate need of an abundance of coffee. I decided to stop at the local coffee shop for a little treat for the kids and my free coffee (yay for national coffee day!) Low and behold this chain coffee shop had no donuts, no bagels and no croissants. Would my kids eat anything else? Of course not. So did I feel right ordering something for myself. No! So now my hunger, their hunger, my lack of caffeine, my amazing start to the day was all weighing heavy on me.


I turn up the radio and its on my go to station. (K-love a christian station) I hear my younger daughter singing to a familiar song and swaying side to side as I see a glimpse of her in my rear view,

And I smile as I get lost in the lyrics.


"I've been running in circles Jumping the hurdles Getting caught in that rush of doing so much I'm feeling kinda worn out

All this checking the boxes Trying to be flawless Has me spinning my head, catching my breath Too afraid to slow down

I tell myself to keep this up That God wants more than just my love But I've been complicating things It's just like me to overthink

Gotta keep it real simple Keep it real simple Bring everything right back to ground zero 'Cause it all comes down to this Love God and love people"

-Danny Gokey


For some reason, it spoke to me. I am always running, always feeling worn out. Preaching to others to slow down. Take time for yourself, breathe, meditate, pray.

But am I practicing what I preach? I wonder? If I was practicing all of that enough would all of today's mishaps have effected me so much. Or would I have perhaps let it roll off my shoulders a bit more and laugh at the craziness.


God has ways of speaking to your heart when you need it most. I believe in signs, even if that sounds silly.

Today I got one. Today, not just through a simple song but more of something I heard loud and clear. I need to stop putting so much pressure on myself, to stop needing perfection and an instant solution to all the worlds problems. To simply slow down.


Isn't our God amazing? How on the craziest of days he picks you up, brushes you off and opens your eyes.


Stop feeling sorry for yourself. Things happen for a reason, even if you never truly understand why.

You just need to trust his plan and appreciate the many blessings you do have!


I just hope his plan for today, involves some much needed coffee and a lot less crazy lol.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page