top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

The long way home

Updated: Jul 19, 2023

For years now something has called me to homeschool my children. However life, bills, work, you name it got in the way. There was something so appealing in having a close knit family. To know my children were safe from the drugs, bullying, peer pressure and whatever else trapes the halls of schools these days. Now trust me, I in no way want to shelter my kids. Though I want them to enjoy being kids!

Do you ever think back to when you were a child and you played outside until the street lights came on? I do. What I don't remember was being in 4th grade and having my friends cussing and talking about sex. Like my oldest daughter unfortunately had to experience. Some may say, well they are going to be exposed to it sooner or later. Whats the big deal? Thats just not something I personally want for my children. So I knew it was time for a change. I wanted MY values to be instilled in my children not those of the world around them. Call me crazy, but my children have a lifetime to be an adult. To embrace life however they choose. My job is to guide them in the direction of being well rounded, respectful and genuine people.

So at ages 10 and 12 we decided to take the plunge into homeschool life! I have felt a plethora of emotions. Am I strong enough, patient enough, qualified, creative enough, do I have the tools to succeed, will my husband be on board?

The answer is yes! Who better to teach your child than you as their parent?



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page