top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Rubber neckers

Updated: Nov 19, 2020

Hey y'all,


How is everyone doing? We are half way through the week. Any plans for the coming weekend?


It's been a long week already. My little one has been sick for almost a week now. Head congestion, scratchy throat, you name it. So my oldest and I have been stir crazy at home while Miss Mia gets some much needed rest...Tiss the season right?

Except this year doesn't it feel so different? The common cold, flu or even allergies makes heads turn. If you sneeze or have to clear your throat you get stares from everyone around.

Which has been awful seeing I have horrible allergies. I even opted for allergy shots instead of my regular medication to help. Partially just tired of the stares.


Granted, I guess it's with good reason. I mean afterall who doesnt want to stay safe? But let's not forget that regular colds, allergies and underlying illnesses still run rampid this time of year.


I was eating dinner with my family and maybe a handful of other people in the entire restaurant the other day. When I swallowed something wrong. Ok. Perhaps I was inhaling the delicious food lol who knows. But I started coughing repeatedly and I swear people nearly fell out of their booths trying to rubber neck around the corner to give me that evil eye. Umm hello, I'm choking here. Don't mind me! At the time I was thinking wow . Gone are the good old days of people asking if I was ok. As I clearly was struggling. Afterall you can do that from 6ft away lol. But nope, lets just rubber neck ourselves right out of our booths. Haha. Man on man.

I just wanted to throw up a flag saying I don't have covid. As I struggle to catch my breath.


Now let me say this, I for one am immuno compromised. I understand the fear of this virus and respect peoples worries and caution more than you know. My family wears masks, takes hand sanitizer everywhere we go lol and wash our hands constantly. Yet we have to still live! We can't stop our lives.

Does that mean I will go to a crowded restaurant, an amusement park or concert anytime soon. ABSOLUTELY NOT!

But when we do go out. Let's not forget not everyone has covid. Some people have asthma, a regular cold, allergies, a chronic cough due to an underlying health problem and so much more.

Stay cautious by all means. Take precautions. Stay home when you can . Wear masks, wash your hands and avoid crowded places.. but please don't judge. You don't know what others may be facing that has nothing to do with covid.


Be safe everyone, Stay home if you have symptoms and be kind to one another! This year has been hard enough without the added judgement of others.






8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page