top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Puppy eyes

Updated: Jul 19, 2023

Good afternoon y'all,


Every once in a while we all have those days where nothing seems to go quite as planned lol. Well, today after a solid 3 times of pressing the snooze button I remembered that my daughter had a doctor appt. I fly into their rooms to wake them up, take the fastest shower know to man, pull out some meat to defrost in time for dinner and it was out the door we go. might I add coffee-less! I need my coffee!!!


I start my car, and conveniently it was on "E" like red line, am I going to make it to the gas station "E". I run to the gas station and head on out. Thank goodness the bridge wasn't up. The day is starting to get better lol. So I think, hey I might actually have time to stop and grab a cup of much needed coffee. I swing through the drive through thinking. YES, i have time. I'm going to make it with time to spare. But in my 40 minute ride to the doctors, wouldn't you know I hit every red light. making us 11 minutes late to her appointment.

I called the office to give them heads up hoping that I didn't need to reschedule. but to my surprise they were so laid back about it.


When I walked in it was apparent that they were so laid back because for the last three days the office has had no internet. (no records, charts, schedule) you get the picture. So they couldn't get upset considering they didnt even know who had appointments that day let alone at what time lol.

Due to this we end up waiting an hour and 10 minutes past her appointment. Which makes sense, considering the the nurse and doctor had to write everything down by hand and had to have patients fill them in on what they are being seen for because they didnt have access to records. But finally she was seen.


I get home and am thinking finally our day will slow down and we can just have some fun and get some more school work done. I walk into the kitchen to let the dog out the side door only to find him gnawing down on an entire package of raw/frozen hamburger. oh my gosh! so disgusting! I have meat all over my kitchen floor.

Normally my dog is the most laid back, lazy boy. But clearly today he had other plans.

Maybe this wouldn't have been so bad had I not grown up a vegetarian until my early 20s. But till this day cooking or handling raw meat weirds me out even though I will now eat a delicious steak from time to time.

So as I look at Fenways puppy eyes looking up at me with a mouth full of raw meet. I cant help but want to throw up and laugh at the same time.

How do we do it y'all? Even though this day could have been so much worse and was more funny and more or less a matter of poor timing and that dang snooze button than anything else. I still wonder.... when our days just seem to be one thing after another, when the work load or chaos keeps coming. How do we moms do it?

Well, because we are super heroes lol. I mean isn't it the only possible reason lol.


My husband is one of the hardest workers I know. Often picking up extra hours knowing he is the only one working. Allowing us the privalage to put the girls education before all else and homeschool. I spent almost $1200 on curriculums not counting supplies like pencils, binders, notebooks, etc. And we owe that all to my husband.

He often leaves in the dark hours of morning and comes home after dinner. But you know what he never misses a dance recital, basketball game or chorus concert.


With all that said lol. Do I think that even though he's a super hero dad that he could do what I do all day? No. (I say that in the nicest way possible. So Dustin if you're reading this sorry haha) After all, I feel like I am a person that believes in woman and men being equals. Remember I was a fire fighter for 5 years. But... there are just some things that moms have an uncanny ability of doing. Can I imagine my husband schooling the girls 6 subjects 5 days a week, all while keeping up with laundry, dishes, meal prep, grocery shopping, play dates, being a coach, a chauffer, managing doctors appointments and speech therapy. Planning curriculums and grading.

The short answer is probably not lol.


Even though I drink an absurd amount of coffee and fall asleep far later than I probably should. I enjoy my super mom powers and I enjoy the fulfillment I get each day doing what I love. I am blessed to be able to spend the days making memories with my girls. All while watching them blossom each and everyday.

So, remember next time you have one of these eventful days that you are doing an amazing job, you are not alone and that it canty be any worse than picking up raw hamburger scattered around your kitchen haha. Smile at the challenges and laugh at the crazy. Because 20 years from now you'll miss the madness.


Enjoy your day and hug those little ones, and even throw your dog a treat for me!




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page