top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Out the window

Good morning y'all,


This morning I woke up to the sound of sleet,rain on my old tin roof. What a peaceful sound that is. While some dislike the rain, I enjoy it. I could just lay curled up in bed, reading a book, listening to the tiny pings on the roof all day.


Living I'm Virginia we don't see much in the way if snow. So when the tempature drops and it's sleeting my kids are by the windows praying for snow.

My girls and I were all born in New England. We are used to frigid weather and lots and lots of snow.

I remember as a kid waking up to nearly a foot of snow and still having to go to school. Having to pack sneakers in my backpack because I had to wear snowboots outside.


My girls having spent the majority of their lives in Virginia, will never experience that. Virginia afterall shuts down in only a few inches of snow. Schools, businesses you name it. Be it they don't have the plows or equipment to handle it or the drivers just panic. It becomes a ghost town.


7 years of living here, I still haven't adapted to that quite yet. I guess my girls haven't either, as they wait in the window hoping, praying for just a few beautiful flurries. Praying to build a snowman which inevitably takes every bit of snow our yard has, as when we are done you can typically see the grass. (Not something we see back home).


So today as the tempatires have dropped into the 30s, we will sit blessed in our warm house. Filled with hot tea and cocoa. Secretly wishing for a flurry or two.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page