top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

KitKat in the bathroom

Happy Friday y'all,


We made it through another week! Whether this week had moments where you were unbelievably present, playing and laughing on the floor with your children. Or tears trying to get them to focus on this new norm that we call school/virtual learning, or whether you are in the trenches homeschooling. I hope this weekend blesses you and sends some relaxation your way.


Today, my girls boarded a plane to go see family up north. Aside from the overwhelming worry I have of them traveling during a pandemic I hated to see them go.


Do you as a mom ever crave some alone time, a date night. Maybe a girls weekend? I think we all do at some time or another. I know sometimes I just plop myself right down in the hot bath for a nice mini vacation. Close my eyes and visualize palm trees, pina coladas and white sand beaches. Usually the sound of bickering children snaps me out of my mini vacation mode though and before you know it the drain is pulled and back to reality I go.


How funny is that though. We as mamas long for that little break. A KitKat eaten in the bathroom, a hot relaxing bath, a phone call from another room to escape the sound of Disney Channel lingering in the background...Then in moments like these as I give my girls hugs at the airport I feel like my heart is being ripped from my chest. It's 7 days woman, pull it together and put on your big girl britches geez. I secretly think to myself.


So as I endure this week childless. Yes, I use the word endure rather than enjoy. Because I honestly never feel whole when they aren't around... I always wonder what they are doing. If I do something fun I wish they were with me to share the moment with.. I will most certainly miss the pattern patter of little feet, the "good morning mom" leaps onto my bed as my little one jumps onto me like a flying squirrel in the mornings.


Not to say I won't do my best to have fun this week, to relax and do somethongs for myself.

But mamas isn't it such a catch 22, this thing we call freedom lol.


Have an amazing weekend! Now I'm off to do who knows what lol🤷‍♀️.....



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page