top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Just a little wrinkle

Good morning y'all,


So today I head home after spending sometime with friends. Isnt it funny no matter how much fun you have, it always feels good to head home. We want so desperately to go on vacation and get away from it all. Only to miss it once its gone from view..

So, I get to the airport at the crack of dawn. Spend forever in line at security because apparently I kept setting the xray machine off. What? For real? Y'all, I am wearing leggings and a sweater. No pockets, no metal, no nothing. So unless I have metal implanted in my body without my knowledge I'd say something was way off there.

Well,Finally I get make it through only to walk for what seemed like a half mile to my gate, I grab a quick drink and realize I only have about 30 minutes before I board. When yo my wonderful surprise I get a text alert with a flight update.

Those four horrible words scroll across my phone, My "flight has been delayed!!!!" Are you kidding me? I feel like crap, just crazy tired and over the airport already since my wonderful experience at security. Now this....

I go up to the desk and ask them what I do at this point. So she tells me I need to switch flights not only a different plane but a different airline completely with a layover in DC of all places.

My walk across the entire airport (because of course the gates had to be on polar opposite ends of the airport) was brisk yo say the least, I was huffing through my mask like a I was running the freaking Boston marathon. My mask now sucking into my face with every breath. I realize very quickly how out of shape I'm in. Which adds fuel to my already amazing day hahaha. But you know what, I'm good! Life is good. I'm headed home, I had a wonderful time with friends.

So, sure I sit here ready to board my first flight which is only the beginning of my very long day. On one of the busiest travel days of the year. (Y'all there are news crews here reporting on the crowded airport) this isn't the smartest decision I've ever had.

But with all that being said, I am much more fortunate than a lot of people. I traveled and saw some amazing things, spent time with amazing people and will be home with some of my family in time for the holidays.

There may be a wrinkle in my trip home, but at the end of the day I am unbelievably thankful for the many blessings I do have.


To the men and woman in the military stationed away from their families, sick in the hospital during this pandemic, homeless or without any family and any other hardship that makes this time of year difficult. I pray for you and your families.

Bless you all and Happy Thanksgiving eve lol.




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page