top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

"It's not mine"

Updated: Nov 18, 2020

Hey y'all,


I just can't even tonight! Lol... Do you ever get in those "Are you for real" mama moments. Where you question what is happening at a given moment. Wondering if all your hard work and lessons you've instilled in your children has just suddenly grown out the window lol. Tonight I'm just in my feels I guess, It started off with the girls being asked to grab their to-go mug out of the car as they got out. But all I heard was "it's not mine". Really? I don't care if its Fred, Sally or Steves (all fictitious people) it's in the back seat so grab it and bring it in the house.

So, aggravated one of them grabs the mug, of course fussing as they storm up the walk to the front door.


Again I ask...really?


We get inside, settle in. The kids get into jammies and curl up to watch a movie. I see one of my daughters step over a pen that must have fallen of an end table. So again I ask one of them to pick it up. How dare I right?

Then, those 3 little words spew from their mouths almost in unison. "It's not mine" really y'all? Tell me I am not the only one who heres this. It could be a water bottle on the table, a pen that rolled off the desk or a sweatshirt left on the floor. But it's never theirs. I must have ghosts y'all because ethereal things just appear on their own. Or suddenly I've lost 50lbs and fit into my 11 year olds sweatshirt.


So, of course now I'm frustrated. I decided to bring up all the hundreds of things I do daily for example the trash in the girls bathroom trash can isn't mine, the dirt dragged in after playing in the rain isn't mine, the laundry piling up isn't mine, the special dinner you asked me to make isn't mine, the hole in your shirt isn't mine. But without hesitation I clean it up, make it, sew it, fix it, you name it! Because I love you and I love to help you and see you happy♡


Their faces looked at me like dang, is she for real right now? Heck yea I am. I have raised my kids to help others, to do the right thing, to not be lazy, etc. This was frustrating, especially because its most certainly not the first time.


I just needed to get some moms advice, am I just in that preteen stage where they think they know it all and run the show? Or am I just having a mom fail moment?


Lord, help me. We haven't even hit the true teen years yet 🤣😂

Have a good night, and Wish me luck y'all! (or perhaps suggest some really strong coffee haha!)




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page