top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Find your tribe

Updated: Jul 19, 2023

Happy Friday y'all,


I believe that most people in there mid 30s like myself have probably settled down with a husband or wife, maybe had a few kids. Perhaps they've even moved away from their hometown or traveled the world.

Though, no matter what life has thrown at them, they have those handful of friends that bring them back to their roots. The ones that no matter how much time goes by they pick up right where they left off.

I'm lucky enough to have this circle! My best friend infact has been like a sister to me since I was 11years old. Which is crazy now looking back, because we both have 11 year olds ourselves now. This "sister" of mine has been through every single major event in my life since I was in middle school. We've been through childbirth, marriages, divorces, health problems and everything in between. She is my rock!

We are a matter of months apart but somehow she's always been that big sister to me, she's always been my protector, the one I look up to or go to for advice. She'd fly here tomorrow if I needed her and I'd do the same for her. She probably doesn't even realize the pedestal I've put her on, but if you knew the kind of friend she was you would do the same!

I moved away from home 8 years ago and though we text, call, visit and video call.. finding some one to fill that physical void here has been sort of a challenge. Now, that's not to say I don't have friends lol. But.....

I find that here at 36 years old I'm still searching for my tribe. Mom friends who get me! Ones that can walk right into my home without knocking and open my fridge because they're like family. Friends that show up for eachother, go to eachothers kids ball games and dance recitals, ones that swing by your house to drop off Johnny because they forgot little Sally had appt.

I have met some pretty incredible people in my new found home here over the last 8 years and I am blessed to call them my friends. People from all walks of life. People I've fought fires along side while being a firefighter, ones to go bowling with, ones I've talked to at length while in the after-school pick up line for years, ones I have over for dinner or have playdates with.

A plethora of woman that I have in my circle. But I feel we all have clusters of friends.. we have the fellow homeschool mom friends, the friends from church, the friends that don't have kids and the ones who do. But due to those "clusters" that more or less scream play date, dinner Friday or the person I call when looking for a good devotional there are disconnects that make it so difficult to establish more than just a great friend to hit the beach with or even invite over for dinner. And don't get me wrong those are amazing friends to have!! But I want that 2am flat tire phone call friend. Like I had back home.. I'm apparently needy, I don't know!

Is it perhaps I was spoiled by meeting my best friend at 11 years old. Or maybe I don't put myself out there enough for fear of rejection or mere shyness.. Maybe it's that when I envisioned what my life would be like.. I was in lala land thinking that my best friend would be living next door. Our kids being the same age and spending everyday together. We would walk in to eachothers homes with ease and no one would ever be surprised by it because we were family.

But that's obviously not reality.

I just want a tribe! Moms with the same values, sarcastic wit, who don't have their ducks in a row and are ok with it! If they like the same wine as me that's a perk haha.

Ones that I can eat pizza while bawling to a chick flick in my pj's friends lol. Or drink wine with while making signs to embaress our kids with at the next ball game. (Just kidding on that one)

Does anyone ever feel like this? No, just me? Lol. Well, I figured i'd put myself out there for anyone who can relate.


So ladies, don't be afraid to lift eachother up, be that friend, understand that sometimes life happens and share some mom stories over a cup of coffee as the littles play an unruly game of hide and seek through the house lol.

Find your tribe, love your life and keep on

treking mama. We've got this!

laugh, cry and inbetween.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page