top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Choose the lava

Updated: Jul 19, 2023

Hey y'all,


Do you ever have those days where you feel like by the time one room gets tidied up and you move on to the next, the last one is messy again?

Well, trust me I feel that way a lot! I have this constant need to clean up behind people. Don't get me wrong, I think kids should be kids and play. Have toys, make messes, be kids. However, I fully believe in that whole "clean up" song I started teaching them when they were 1 year old lol.

With that being said...there are days I'm all about throwing flour in the air baking cookies (yes, that was how we made our Christmas cookies this year.) and there are days when I'm secretly in my mind begging them to pick a book Or a show, just something that doesn't involve a million pieces scattered around everywhere.


So, what was today you might ask?


Today, started out like any old homeschool day. We were knocking out our subjects and I was once again secretly in my mind thinking wahooooo we are almost done lol. When our science topic for the day was about, Mars, having the largest peak in the entire solar system. A volcano called Olympus Mons.

Casually, the girls mention how it would be cool if sometime we could make an erupting volcano. Now, I have never made a volcano in my life. No clue how. Apparently my school just wasn't cool enough for this back in the day.

And as much as I was looking forward to the end of the day, so I could finish the other hundred things I had on my to do list today. I decided to be the cool mom, the fun mom, the teacher who put everything aside for her students. Thanks to a quick little YouTube video we were well on our way to make this volcano!

We gathered up ingredients and did as the lovely video said. As squeals of excitement and laughter filled my kitchen.

These are the moments I live for! The moments i want to press pause and just soak in every second.


Today, I am so thankful that I took the messy road! The road that led my kids to be creative, messy, little scientists. To not care that I had "lava" erupting all over my counter, or homemade clay "volcanic rock" sticking to, well, everything!

I was present in the moment because that what my kids needed. That's what they deserve!


I have years to have a "perfect" house with everything placed just so. But, I have only a few short years that my girls want to or will even think it's cool enough to make homemade volcanos in the kitchen with their mom. So in the future, if given the choice between a tidy room or spilled lava. I will be choosing the lava!!!





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page