top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Can I help you find anything?

Hey y'all,


So, we decided to buy new pots and pans last week. You're most likely thinking, ok what's the big deal? Right? Well you see, from there it snowballed into me wanting to paint our cabinets to match the theme I've been aiming for. Which then lead me to want to paint the trim a new color to add some contrast, at which point new countertops only made sense right?... Do you see a pattern here. I'm basically living that book I used to read to my kids. "If you give a mouse a cookie" or "If you give a moose a muffin".

This weekend has been nothing but work around the house and I'd say a solid 5 trips to Lowes and its only Saturday. Which leads me to a super embarrassing story that happened at Lowes today. Oh my gosh y'all!

I haven't been feeling well, no not the dreaded covid. Just crazy migraines! However, once we started I couldn't very well stop and leave our kitchen in disarray. So thanks to my husband and my perseverance we only have a little more to get done tomorrow after church. Before moving on to our handbuilt farmhouse style desk for our classroom.

Yes, that's right! We are cramming in as much as we can this weekend!


But back to my embarrassing story. So, we went to Lowes for more paint, some flood lights and a few other random things. As we were standing at the checkout. My daughters and our 10 year old niece turned around to see that my husband was gone. So, of course I thought he ran back having forgot something.

So, the girls and I get out of line and go to look for him. We are walking down the main isle along the back half of the store, when one of the hundred employees walking around came up and asked if I need help finding anything. So, thinking I'd be funny I said "yes, my husband" jokinly laughing at the fact I couldn't find him.

Well, apparently the worker didn't get my humor or what I mean. As he looked at me like a deer in headlights and said "ehhh" as he walked away.

My 12 year old then brought it to my attention that the way I said it, came across as if I was asking as if I was in search for a new husband. This poor kid looking like hes in his early twenties probably looked at this 36 year old woman standing before him with a 10, 11 and 12 year old, paint scattered from head to toe, thinking is this lady nuts?

So, mortified I grab the 3 girls and dart into the closest isle. Thanking God I have this mask on to hide the 10 shades of red I could now feel as heat poured into my cheeks.

I debated going back and explaining, but that would just make it more awkward. So instead tomorrow when I have to go to Lowes because let's face it we've already been 5 times what's a few more. I will no doubt be in a different mask, sporting a different hairstyle, hoping he doesn't recognize me. The crazy lady in search for her new man at Lowes! Lol

Now I'm off to take some migraine meds, get some sleep and do it all again tomorrow. We'll, minus me joking with random employees at Lowes. Lol


I hope your weekend is going well so far!

Night y'all



15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page