top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

A breed all their own

Updated: Jul 19, 2023

Good morning y'all,


I read this quote this morning and it really hit home for me...


"Homeschooling is largely heart to heart. The methods and even the curriculum do not matter nearly as much as the relationship between child and parent.”


How true is this. I spent days, weeks and months trying to find the perfect curriculum at the beginning of this school year. I often debate the choices I made and am constantly plagued with the idea if I'm doing enough.

But you know what, how true is that quote? I could have bought the words greatest, most elaborate, expensive, wonderful curriculum. But that would mean nothing if it wasnt for the relationship I have with my children. The love, and the passion that goes into everything I try to teach them.

Now, just for a second imagine your child sitting at the table with a stack of books or even a laptop next to them. Hundreds of dollars in materials at their disposal. Do you think they are just going to open them up and dive in thinking "Wow, what a nice mom/dad you are for spending all that money on me, i'm going to read all of these front to back, thanks!" I know for my children thats a NO!

Now, Im not saying that because my kids are unappreciative. But more so because my kids need guidence, my kids need me present, they want me present. What fun is schoool without the teacher using silly voices, the teacher getting excited about a topic or throwing her hands in the air when you ace that test you’ve been craming for.

The relationship is what they need. Anyone can read a book, teach a little history or arithmatic. But not everyone can be their childs world, not everyone will cheer them on, or beam with pride when they figure something out they've been working so hard on.


The relationship between a homeschool parent and child is unique, its unlike any other, we share a closeness, a bond and a love that is far beyond just a mother and child. We cross into a new realm of "mother/child", because we have to play so many more roles than just the "average" mom. (no, I am not knocking any moms that work, juggle a family, sports and deadlines, etc. Girl, get it! i'm just saying we are a little different is all) Homeschool moms are like a breed of their own.

We spend 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with our children. We teach, clean, pick up messes, cook, chaueffer, fold, scrub, plan, read, grade, REPEAT! day in and day out.


But how awesome is it! How awesome is it that everyday my girls wake up, casually stroll downstairs and we begin our day. No rush, no deadline, no stress! When you stop and truly look at how blessed you are as a family to be homeschooling. To truly look at the bigger picture, we have such a luxery that so few others have! We can eat breakfast together without having to rush before heading off to work, We dont need to worry about daycares, babysitters, etc spending more time with our children than we do, We are lucky enough to be their for all the firsts, we build a relationship with our children that is stronger and deeper than parents who only see their children before and afterschool.. The girls and I can learn together and grow together. We can explore, create, play, and inspire one another each and everyday.


So, as we grow closer to the end of the year and you start shopping around for curriculums, or are racking your brain on whether or not you did enough this school year. Have peace in knowing, that just by you being present, by you engaging, by you playing, cuddling, having patience. You are enough! Not everyday is going to be peaches and creme, and it doesnt have to be.

Just trust in yourself, in God and have faith that the love and passion your kids see pouring out of you is all they need!




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page